WVUSports.com

Men's Basketball

Men's Basketball: Non-Conference Foes Announced



By Bryan Messerly for MSNsportsNET.com
August 25, 2010

 
  Oliver Luck

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. – West Virginia University Director of Athletics Oliver Luck has announced the 2010-11 men’s basketball non-conference schedule.

The Mountaineers will play 12 non-conference contests, including home games against Purdue, Oakland, American, Robert Morris and Cleveland State.

West Virginia will open the regular season Nov. 13 at home against Oakland. The Mountaineers will play two home exhibition games that will be announced in September.

WVU will play road games at Miami (Fla.) and Duquesne. The Mountaineers will play two games in Charleston – VMI and Marshall.

West Virginia will travel to San Juan, Puerto Rico, in November, for three games in the Puerto Rico Tip-Off, beginning with Davidson on Nov. 18. The Mountaineers will face Vanderbilt or Nebraska on the second day and wrap up the tournament against North Carolina, Minnesota, Hofstra or Western Kentucky.

The BIG EAST portion of the schedule will be announced in September.

Saturday, Nov. 13, Oakland, Morgantown
Thursday, Nov. 18, Davidson ^, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Friday, Nov. 19, Vanderbilt or Nebraska ^, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Sunday, Nov. 21, North Carolina, Hofstra, Minnesota or Western Kentucky^, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Saturday, Nov. 27, VMI, Charleston
Wednesday, Dec. 1, American, Morgantown
Saturday, Dec. 4, Miami (Fla.), Miami, Fla.
Tuesday, Dec. 7, Robert Morris, Morgantown
Sunday, Dec. 12, Duquesne, Pittsburgh, Pa.
Saturday, Dec. 18, Cleveland State, Morgantown
Sunday, Jan. 16, Purdue, Morgantown
Wednesday, Jan. 19, Marshall, Charleston

^ Puerto Rico Tip-Off – San Juan, Puerto Rico