Sims Named Big 12 Newcomer of the Year

  • By John Antonik
  • |
  • December 11, 2013 02:57 PM
  • |
Charles Sims
MORGANTOWN, W.Va. – West Virginia University’s Charles Sims was named to the 29-player All-Big 12 first team announced earlier today.
Sims also claimed Big 12 Newcomer of the Year honors after rushing for 1,095 yards and scoring 11 touchdowns for the 4-8 Mountaineers. The University of Houston transfer was the second-leading rusher in the Big 12 and ranked 32nd nationally this season while also ranking second in the conference with 1,549 all-purpose yards. He caught a team-best 45 passes with three additional scores through the air.
Sims became the first WVU player since Noel Devine in 2009 to run for more than 1,000 yards in a season, topping the 100-yard mark four times including a season high 154-yard performance in a 30-27 overtime win against TCU on Nov. 2.
Sims was the only West Virginia player named to the first team on offense or defense.
Senior defensive lineman Will Clarke made the second unit after ranking second in the conference in tackles for loss with 17. Included among those 17 TFL were six sacks.
Senior Darwin Cook and sophomore Nick O’Toole also made the defensive second team. Cook had a team best four interceptions while also ranking 10th in the conference in solo tackles with 55.
O’Toole ranked 17th nationally in punting with an average of 44.1 yards per game and he also led the Big 12 with 26 punts of 50 yards or longer. O’Toole’s 26 punts of 50 yards or longer are the most by a Mountaineer punter since consensus All-American Todd Sauerbrun had 33 in 1994.
West Virginia had five players listed on the all-Big 12 honorable mention team: Cody Clay (FB), Curtis Feigt (OL), Karl Joseph (DB), Nick Kwiatkoski (LB) and Quinton Spain (OL).
Baylor’s Bryce Petty was named Offensive Player of the Year while TCU’s Jason Verrett and Texas’ Jackson Jeffcoat shared the league’s top defensive player award.
Texas Tech tight end Jace Amaro and Oklahoma offensive lineman Gabe Ikard were the only unanimous picks.
Baylor’s Art Briles claimed the Chuck Neinas Coach of the Year award and his Bears led the way with 10 first team all-conference picks.
The league’s 10 head coaches made the selections without voting for their own players.


Charles Sims, All-Big 12 football team, West Virginia Mountaineers